Diehl resigns, Richardson ascends to top House post
MDN Menu
MDN.ORG Mo. Digital News Missouri Digital News MDN.ORG: Mo. Digital News MDN.ORG: Missouri Digital News

Diehl resigns, Richardson ascends to top House post

Date: May 15, 2015
By: Steven Anthony
State Capitol Bureau
Links: Diehl's resignation letter

Two days after a Kansas City Star report said House Speaker John Diehl exchanged sexually-laced text messages with a college freshman, he submitted his official resignation as speaker and as a state representative.
RunTime:  0:35
OutCue:  SOC

Wrap: John Diehl submitted his resignation letter Friday morning after he made one final speech to House members.

In his speech, Diehl once again apologized for his actions.

Actuality:  RESIGN.WAV
Run Time:  00:16
Description: "I know I've made a mistake, I'm truly sorry. I am truly sorry to this body and letting everyone down, but as I said on the first day I was up here, we're going to hold ourselves to a high standard and that starts here."

After Diehl left the House chamber, the House elected Majority Leader Todd Richardson as their next Speaker.

Reporting from the state Capitol, I'm Steven Anthony.

The Missouri House has a new Speaker and he is 39-year-old Todd Richardson of Poplar Bluff
RunTime:  0:36
OutCue:  SOC

Wrap: Richardson has been in the House since 2011 and served previously as Majority Floor Leader under then-House Speaker John Diehl.

Richardson gave a very brief speech upon his election and said it's time for the House to do the people's business.

Actuality:  RICHSPKR.WAV
Run Time:  00:08
Description: "Today is not a day for speeches and today is not a day for rhetoric. Today is the day we get back to work."

Richardson becomes Speaker as former Speaker Diehl resigned because of a story that showed he made sexually-charged text messages to a college intern working at the Capitol.

Reporting from the state Capitol, I'm Steven Anthony.

Missouri Digital News is produced by Missouri Digital News, Inc. -- a non profit organization of current and former journalists.